Light stencils (day 27)

Today I tried out yet another form of light painting, light stencils. To make the stencils I followed this guide (with a few modifications). I took an shoebox and cut a hole in the lid the shaoe of a silhouette drawing I had traced onto a piece of paper. I then added a layer of colored paper to color cast and diffuse the light from the flash. Since I do not have an external flash unit, I put one of my cameras in the shoebox and used its on-camera flash activated by a remote. To get a better impression of the setup. see the following picture. This is with a flashlight in the shoebox not a flash unit, but it shows off the basic concept.

By using a long exposure time it is possible to use the flash multiple times creating a light silhouette each time. These are my results.

Leave a Reply

